LOVE FOR MY CHILDREN DROVE ME TO THE USA – MUKANYA

Artists seeking Freedom in Exile Feature.

October 28, 2011 by newsdzezimbabwe

Chimurenga icon, Thomas Mapfumo says he left Zimbabwe for the USA primarily for his children. He told a Botswana publication The Voice that his family came first.

“ I am a family man and I moved to the US so that my children could get a decent education without interference from those who think they are always right. I am not afraid to die because every living being is going to die.

“I have to however be cautious and protect my family. I would urge anybody fighting against an unjust system to cast the fear of death aside and always make sure they are with friends who can protect them. I survived the Smith regime because I was witty.” Here is the full interview.

The Voice: Were you ever a member of Mugabe’s Zanu PF?

TM: Never! In fact I have never belonged to any political party because I do not want to be owned by anybody. I have always wanted to be in a position to make decisions without worrying about anything. My allegiance is not to any person or party but my country, Zimbabwe.

TV: And your music played an important part in the Liberation of Zimbabwe

TM: As an artist there was no way I could stand aside and just be a spectator because the liberation struggle was for the freedom of all Zimbabweans. I supported the struggle through my music and I am happy that my humble contribution helped win the war against Ian Smith and his racist government.

TV: You were on the same side with Robert Mugabe during the liberation war but less than a decade you fell out with him. Why?

TM: The war against Smith was for justice and prosperity for Zimbabweans but after independence I realized that the Zanu PF government’s policy was working against those aspirations. I could not stand aside and watch what I had helped fight for go to waste.

I spoke out against the corruption that was ripping our country apart and the government did not like it. Devious plans were hatched including one that implicated me in a car smuggling ring. I was finally forced to leave the country for the US where I now live in exile with my family and band

TV: I guess like most people you have your most memorable moments.

TM: I will never forget the day Zimbabwe attained her independence. It was a great moment for all and we were all looking forward to a new a prosperous nation. That remains the greatest day in my life.

TV: And the lowest?

TM: Surely it is situation in Zimbabwe at the moment. I pray everyday that it changes for the better soon. I also believe that it is we, the Zimbabweans who can change things. Our destiny is in own hands. For me the struggle against injustice anywhere in the world will stop the day I die

(TV): By the way when was the last time you were (in Botswana) and what is your impression of the country now?

Thomas Mapfumo (TM): I was in Botswana in 1986 for Independence celebrations. The infrastructure has changed drastically since then which is of course a sign of progress. Back then there was no proper airport and today there is one, which I believe will be even better when the construction work is finished. The roads are also much better. The buildings in the city are bigger and better. To me these are signs of growth and proper management of resources.

Botswana is unlike Zimbabwe, which has been going down since we got our independence in 1980. At that time Zimbabwe had some of the best infrastructure in Africa and was able to feed its people and export food and other agricultural products. We were the food basket of Southern Africa but that is all gone because of leaders who serve their own interests and see anybody who does not agree with them as an enemy. However there is one disturbing thing that I noticed in young people. They seem to be blindly adopting the western culture especially the hip-hop and gangster rap culture.

TV: What bothers you about that, we are supposed to be living in a global village, aren’t we?

TM: I live in the US and I can tell you that the majority of the citizens in that country including most blacks find the effects of the hip hop and gangster rap distasteful. Most of it glorifies violence, drug use and undermines women. Young people in Africa should learn the values, language and culture before they take on harmful foreign traits.

TV: But I understand you started off your musical career listening and playing Western music.

TM: That is true. I listened to all the big bands but deep down in my heart I wanted to sing and play for my people in their own language. Those days it was fashionable to sing in English but I broke the norm. I have never regretted the idea.

Leave a Reply

